It even tastes green

30 Apr

When I found a recipe tonight that called for broccoli rabe AND basil, I got a little excited. That means I’d be using two (correction: THREE when you include garlic) ingredients from my CSA share this week. It was a challenging dinner, but fun and very green.

Ingredients

  • Chicken breasts
  • Broccoli rabe
  • Spinach fettuccine (I’m leery of green pasta, but I decided to go with it rather than use normal fettuccine)
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 cup onion
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • Grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped basil

Steps

  1. Chop the stalks off the broccoli rabe. In a large pot, boil the broccoli rabe for two minutes. Scoop out of pot with a holey spoon and transfer to a plate. Image
  2. Pour the spinach fettuccine into the pot and boil as the box instructs (approx. 8 minutes or until soft). Drain. Image
  3. Heat 1 tbsp. of extra virgin olive oil in a large skillet. Add a few shakes of salt and 2 tsp. of dried oregano. Stir a bit and add the chicken. Sauté for a few minutes on each side, flipping the chicken over every minute or so to keep it from crisping. When the chicken is done, transfer it to a plate.
  4. Pour 1 tbsp. of EVOO into the skillet and sauté the chopped onion and mixed garlic (on medium heat) for about three minutes. Add the broccoli rabe and stir for another three minutes. Finally, add some of your spinach noodles and stir until they’re warm again. Image
  5. Move the skillet contents to a plate, add the chicken and sprinkle Parmesan cheese and chopped basil. 

This meal is probably the most aesthetically pleasing one I’ve ever made…it looks and tastes healthy. The next time I make it, I’ll substitute the spinach pasta with normal fettuccine, though. I think it’s just an acquired taste. The broccoli rabe was more bitter than I expected, but definitely good to experience. I shaved fresh Parmesan, so the flavor added a nice balance to all the greenness.

Highlight: The chicken. I’ll be preparing my chicken with a dash of dried oregano more often.

Image

3 Responses to “It even tastes green”

  1. Janice Dent April 30, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    This looks so delicious! I will have to try broccoli rabe. And a holey spoon… Just kidding, you know I love you!

    • Ashley Barnas May 1, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

      haha holey spoons are the best!

  2. inherchucks May 4, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    yum! I have never received broccoli rabe in my box but will be filing this recipe away in hopes that I do :) Would love for you to add this to the link up! http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/02/whats-in-the-box-24/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

